Background Music Loop: Oh (That Familiar) Canada

On the sacred day of Background Loop Tuesday over at Magical Mouse Radio, I thought it was time to chat about another loop I enjoy.

I’m a huge fan of most of the Epcot World Showcase music, but it is actually the sounds of Canada that intrigue me most.

World Showcase Canada Pavilion

Do you ever listen to a song and feel completely sure you’ve heard it before?

That’s me + the Canada BGM.

When you get to around the 7 -minute mark, the music is all too familiar to me.

See, when I was in high school, I worked in CVS for many, many hours at a time. After awhile, you start to memorize the music playing around the place and there was also this one song I had dubbed “the wishing well” song.

If you could read my mind, love,
What a tale my thoughts could tell.
Just like an old time movie,
Bout a ghost from a wishing well.

See?

I always thought they played it at CVS because of this lyric though:

If I could read your mind, love,
What a tale your thoughts could tell.
Just like a paperback novel,
The kind the drugstores sell.

And then I was sad our drugstore never sold paperbacks.

Anyway, what does this have to do with Canada? Well, the song was written by a Canadian named Gordon Lightfoot, topped their music charts, and was Gordon’s first song to make its way on the American music charts. I can see why it may have been made a part of the background loop in this area of World Showcase, even though it is a bit boggling at the same time. The song was released in 1971, and a disco version came out in 1980. Not exactly too timely but there have been a slew of covers from artists like Johnny Cash, Don McLean, Liza Minnelli, and Olivia Newton-John. So there’s a good chance people have heard it before.

Here’s the original by Gordon Lightfoot:

Hope you enjoyed this glimpse into the music (or at least one of the songs) heard around the Canada pavilion!

4 thoughts on “Background Music Loop: Oh (That Familiar) Canada

  1. Love that song — Definitely Lightfoot’s best. I was surprised the first time I heard it being used in Epcot — is it just me, or is the Canada loop a lot more “contemporary” (well, relatively) than the music for the other pavilions? That, and some of the tunes that pop up in The Land.

Leave a comment