Pros & Cons of 2014 | Muppet Monday

It’s the last Monday of 2014 and I think it’s only fitting to chat about how the Muppets fared this year. This was on my mind this past weekend as we made another trip to Museum of the Moving Image to check out The Muppet Family Christmas. If I can count the Muppet highlights of 2014 on one hand, does that signify success?

It wasn’t exactly a slam dunk, let’s be honest, but since this place is “happy” I try to lean on the positive side. πŸ™‚

Here are some of my thoughts:

CONS

  • Despite positive reviews, not enough people went to see Muppets Most Wanted when it arrived in theaters.
  • Not enough Muppets on my television. I would have loved to see a better Christmas special than the one we got next year (sigh) and more guest-starring opportunities.
  • MuppetVision in Disneyland closed permanately to make way for aΒ For the First Time in Forever: A Frozen Celebration Sing-a-long.

Muppets Most Wanted Screening This Happy Place Blog

PROS

  • Meeting Constantine in Muppets Most Wanted. This new release didn’t lay it on thick with the nostalgia factor; in fact the Muppets did what they love to do — get in wild amounts of trouble — but the surely highlight was meeting Kermit’s doppelganger, Constantine.Β So what that he’s the top criminal frog in the world? I fell in love with him. (We always love the bad boys, don’t we?) We can’t forget the amazing puppetry and awesome songs, either.
  • I Am Big Bird documentary. The story of Caroll Spinney’s career as Big Bird and Oscar the Grouch, rubbing elbows with Jim Henson and a ton of other celebrities, and his steadfast romance with his wife? Such a great look at what a tough job working in puppetry is and also how much the support of the person you love pushes you. I’m glad this will be distributed widely in February. (Go see it; plus it’s a kickstarter project which is exciting.)
  • As a bookworm, book collector, and enthusiast of anything that will teach me Muppety things, I can’t say enough wonderful things about The Muppets Character Encyclopedia. In fact, I think I pushed this the most this year. The pictures are amazing and it’s an enjoyable (and educational) book for the newest and most seasoned Muppet fan.
  • The promise of things to come? (I hope.) I was glad to see that the Muppets were a tiny (but popular) part of a Halloween VillainsΒ partyΒ at Hollywood Studios this fall. Constantine might be locked up but he was “happy” to meet some fans who waited in line a long, long time to see him. And then there was the holiday video of Kermit singing “It Feels Like Christmas” at Disneyland, released this month. Does this mean we are going to get more of moments like this? I sure hope so. I can’t imagine Disney would make these things happen if they didn’t have something else in mind for the Muppets’ future.

2015 should be… interesting. No new movie but possible announcements about expansions in Hollywood Studios could be a good or bad thing for MuppetVision (or maybe not change much at all). It’s possible one of the songs from Muppets Most Wanted might be nominated for an Oscar (perhaps a Muppet performance?). And, perhaps, the most “set in stone” is the late fall opening of the permanent Jim Henson exhibit at the Museum of the Moving Image in Astoria, Queens. Until then, I look forward to plenty of monthly Muppet events planned by the Jim Henson Legacy. It’s one of the only ways I get my Muppet fill throughout the year, and I am thankful for it.

Speaking of thankful, thanks for hanging out every Monday for Muppet Monday! As a blogger, I find it’s hardest for me to work on consistent features like this one because it’s not so easy to keep it exciting and to feel motivated to write them. I have to say… I do learn the most of penning these.

To show my appreciation, I’m giving away a copy of Muppets Most Wanted on Blu-Ray. Enter below for a chance to win, my dears! (Open to U.S only.)

a Rafflecopter giveaway
//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Posted by

A book publicist who loves writing about Disney and books, and sometimes Disney books.

5 thoughts on “Pros & Cons of 2014 | Muppet Monday

  1. While I didn’t get to meet Constantine in DHS I think it’s fantastic he was there! I hope this means more Muppet meet and greets!

    Happy New Year, Estelle! May it be the muppetiest year yet!

  2. I think that the greatest Muppet moment of 2014 is simply Muppets Most Wanted itself. The movie was just bursting with brilliant humor and a fantastic soundtrack that it’s bound to make any Muppet fan excited. I’m really glad that Disney put out a Muppet sequel and I really hope there’s a lot more Muppet stuff on the way next year.

  3. My favorite Muppet moments of 2014 were anytime I got to watch or talk about the Muppets with my nieces and nephew! They are 10, 8, and 3. It’s so fun to have such big Muppet fans πŸ™‚ I love it when the three-year-old sings along to all the songs from Muppets Most Wanted. in 2015 I just hope for more and more Muppet awesomeness! We love to discover more Muppet toys and books!

Leave a Reply

